The 63rd Annual Convention was held in San Antonio, Texas at the DoubleTree by Hilton Airport Hotel, May 5–7, 2017.  Wanda M. Sims, PRP, NAP Treasurer served as the NAP Representative. The convention started on Friday, May 5, 2017 with the plenary workshop, “Only When Authorized in the Bylaws” presented by Wanda M. Sims, PRP. Bylaws Chairman Richard D. Hayes, JD, PRP presented the Bylaws Forum afterwards. The TSAP Education Endowment Fund Live Auction dinner was held in the evening where Beverly Glynn-Steffenauer served as the mistress of ceremony.

On Saturday, May 6, 2017, the following officers were elected to serve for the 2017-2018 term: Sheryl C. Womble, PRP, President; Edward M. Moore, PRP, First Vice President; Pam W. Meyercord, PRP, Second Vice President; Vernon A. Gray, PRP Third Vice President; Kathy Blair, Recording Secretary; and, Beverly Glynn-Steffenauer, Treasurer.

The following workshops were presented: “How to Develop and Serve on a National Championship Parliamentary Procedure Team;” Richard D. Hayes, JD, PRP; “Basic Parliamentary Procedure and Mock Meetings;” Edward M. Moore, PRP and Beth Sapp James, RP; “Attracting and Retaining Clients: The Pearl of Consulting;” Kirk Overbey, PRP; “Nonprofit Governance Issues: Policies and Procedures for Parliamentarians to Know;” Lucy H. Anderson, Esq., PRP.

At the TSAP Banquet that evening, Kirk Overbey, PRP served as the master of ceremonies. The TSAP Past Presidents were honored and given an opportunity to share their most memorable experience. Elizabeth Sapp James, RP was presented the Parliamentarian of the Year Award. Wanda M. Sims, PRP conducted the installation ceremony for the newly elected officers.

Sheryl C. Womble, PRP presented the president’s address. The theme remained the same as the previous year, Elevating Parliamentary Standards Through Education and Retention. She thanked the members for their faith and confidence in electing her to serve another term as the president. After the banquet, the Bell, Christopher Registered and Landmark Units hosted a reception for the incoming officers.

On Sunday, May 7, 2017, Cynthia A. Bell conducted an inspirational and memorable Silent Gavel Memorial. Following the ceremony, and the final credentials and registration reports the convention was successfully completed. The Post-Convention Board of Director’s Meeting was conducted immediately afterwards.